All members of the teaching staff are subject specialists and are assisted in their work by a dedicated team of professional support staff.

School Leadership Team


Mr. Jonathan Standen, B.A. (Hons) (Nottingham)

Headmaster (History, Classical Civilisations)

Mr. Nick Dyer, M.A. (Hons) (Nottingham)

Deputy Headmaster (History, Politics, Games)

Mr. Rob Biggs, B.Sc (Hons) (Wolverhampton)

Assistant Head – Head of Sixth Form, Geography, Games, L2L

Mr. Adrian Courtenay, M.A. (Oxon) M. Phil., M.A. Ed. A.L.C.M. Assistant Head 

Pastoral Development 10-14 (History, Games) Designated Child Protection Officer

Mr. Phil Stanlake B.Ed. (Hons) (St. Paul and St. Mary)

Assistant Head – Teaching School Director (PE)

Mrs Charlotte Sturge, B.Sc. (Hons) (London) 

Assistant Head, Head of Science & Biology

Mrs. Janet Waterston, B.Ed. (Cheltenham)

Assistant Head – Assessment, Curriculum, Staffing (Maths)


Teaching Staff


Mr. Gilbert Antony, B.A. (Hons) (Portsmouth)



Mr. Jonathan Barry, BSc (Hons) (Kwazulu Natal)

Chemistry, Science

Mr. Ashley Bawden, B.Sc (Hons) (Hartpury)

PE / Games/ Sports Studies / More Able Lead Teacher

Mr. Adam Bennett, B.Sc (Hons) (Bristol)

Mathematics / DofE Scheme

Mr. Mark Bennett B.A. (Hons) (Exon)

Head of English & Media / Drama / Music

Mrs. Penelope Bennett, B.Sc (Hons) (Plymouth)

2nd in Mathematics

Mrs. Rachel Bolton, B.A. (Hons) (Southampton)

French, Training Manager

Dr. James Bridges, M.A. PhD, (Gloucs)


Mrs. Catherine Brooks, B.Sc (Hons) (B’ham)

Geography, History

Miss Helen Cawston, B.Sc (Hons) (Gloucs)

Psychology, Games

Mrs. Clare Chad Daniels MBa (Gloucs)

Head of Food Technology

Mr. Christopher Cobb, B.A. (Hons) (Cardiff)

English, Media, Drama

Mr. Paul Coleman, B.Ed. (Cardiff)

Head of Design Technology

Mr. Ashley Croft, B.Sc. (Hons) (Warwick)

Physics. Science

Mr. Kieron Davies, B.Sc (Hons) (Gloucs)

Head of ICT

Mr. Kevin Downes, B.Sc. (Hons) (Lancaster)

Head of Physics, Asst Head of Sixth Form

Mrs. Hilary Dyer-Price, B.A. (Hons), (Gloucs)


Mr. Bernard Eccles B.A. (Hons) (Bristol)

Latin, Classical Civilisations

Mr. Christopher Ferguson B.A. (Hons) (Bristol)


Mr. Graeme Fletcher B.Sc (Hons) (Swansea)

Physics, Maths

Mr. Daniel Foster, B.Sc. (Hons) (Bath)


Miss Michelle Gardner, B.A. (Hons) (Staffordshire)

Head of Business Studies, Economics, Accounting

Mrs. Eleanor Gasan, B.A. (Hons) (Gloucs)

2nd in English and AQA Bacc Co-ordinator

Mrs. Claire Gee, B.Sc. (Hons) (Warwick)

Biology, Science

Miss Susan Glock, MSc (Hull)

Biology, Science

Mr. Andrew Hamilton, B.Sc. (Brunel)

Head of PE, Sports Studies, Games

Mr. James Hargreaves B.Sc. (Hons) (Manchester)

Biology, Science

Mr. Andy Hart, B.Ed (Hons) (Gloucs)

PE / PEd / Sports Studies / Games

Mr. Ian Hiscock B.A. (Hons) (London)

L.T.C.L., L.Mus.T.C.L., A.L.C.M. Director of Music

Mrs. Jane Joynson, B.A. (Hons) (Leeds)

Head of Languages

Mrs. Paulina Kirkpatrick, B.Sc. (Hons) (University of Extremadura, Spain) (MEd)

Business Studies, Economics

Mrs. Joanne Lucas, B.A. (Hons) (London)

Head of Drama

Mrs. Dionne Meade, B.A. (Hons) (London)

English, Drama

Mrs. Clare Medcroft, B.A. (Hons) (CGCHE)

Head of Art, PEd

Mr. Andy Morgan, B.A. (Hons) (Sheffield)

Head of History, Politics / D of E Co-ordinator

Miss Holly Okell, B.A. (Hons) (Manchester)

Business Studies, Accounting, Games

Miss Claire O’Neill B.A. (Hons) (Durham)


Mrs. Rebecca Palmer, B.A. (Hons) (UCE)


Mr. Chris Reynolds, B.Sc(Hons) (Plymouth)

Head of Geography, Games

Mrs. Karen Reynolds, B.A. (Hons) (Winchester)

Head of Personal Education & RE

Mr. Peter Roberts, B.Sc. (Hons), M.Ed. (Bristol)

Head of Mathematics and IT

Mr. Richard Sayers, B.Sc. (Hons) (Leeds)

Head of Lower School, Mathematics, Games

Mrs. Beverley Simon, B. A. (Hons) (Liverpool)


Mr. David Snow, B.A. (Hons) (Leicester)

DT, Asst Head of Lower School, Games

Mrs. Joanne Thompson, B.A. (Hons) (Oxford Brookes)


Miss India Warren, B.A. (Hons) (Bristol)

Chemistry, Science

Mrs. Elaine Waterson, B.Sc. (Hons) (Wolverhampton)CSci CChem MRSC

Head of Chemistry

Miss Jane Yiend, B.Ed. (Hons) (Bristol) RSA Dip


Mrs. I. Flatman

Cover Supervisor


Professional Support Staff  




Mrs. Hazel Baldwin, AAT, CSBM

Business Manager

Mrs. Jo Hitchings, MA (Hons) (Cantab)

Finance Manager

Mrs. Sue Wales

Head’s PA, Admissions Officer

Mrs. Julie James

Data Administrator

Mrs. Sue Evans

Examinations Officer

Mrs. Eileen Price

Administrator – 6th Form

Miss Louise Price

Admin Assistant – Main Office

Mrs. Angela Craven

Admin Assistant – Main Office

Mrs. Penny Morgan

Teaching School Admin

Mrs. Lynn Green

Receptionist / Administrator

Mrs. Stephanie Williams

Receptionist / Administrator

Mrs. Toni Bayliss

Finance Assistant

Technical Support


Mr. Gordon Taylor, B.Sc. (Hons) (Nott Trent) 

Systems Manager

Mr. Nigel Ledeux, BSc, MBCS CITP (GlosCat)

Technician (IT)

Ms. Ceri Heap

Senior Technician (Science)

Mrs. Lorna Cox

Technician (Science)

Mrs Debra Smith

Technician (Science)

Mr. Nick Jones

Technician (Science)

Mr. Steve Sykes

Technician (DT)

Mrs Natasha Workman

Technician (DT – Food)

Mr. John Aston, B.Ed (B’ham) ACIEA


Learning Support


Mrs. Jane McGillivray

Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Mrs. Glynis Knight

Teaching Assistant

Mr. Martin Harrison

Teaching Assistant

Mrs. Cornelia Churchill

Teaching Assistant



Mr. Julian Burchett

Resident Caretaker

Mr. Peter Cresswell (City and Guilds)

Assistant Caretaker






How to Apply

History of The Crypt School